You are here

In English

Finn-ARMA, the Finnish Association of Research Managers and Advisors was founded in 2012 as a network of Finnish universities’ research services. Research services support universities’ research activities and include services e.g. in research funding, legal and contractual matters, innovation and entrepreneurship and research administration.


Finn-ARMA aims to enhance the professionalization of universities’ services and administration, in particular services in research funding, and to support high-level research at Finnish universities. Finn-ARMA aims to develop the cooperation, services and professional competence of the Finnish universities’ research services.


To realize its aims, Finn-ARMA


  • Organizes professional training for its members
  • Provides a forum for networking and exchange of experience and views
  • Provides a forum for joint development projects
  • Provides a forum for presenting joint recommendations and statements
  • Facilitates and strengthens cooperation with its main stakeholders and interest groups
  • Enhances the visibility and recognition of the research service profession
  • Participates in international networks for the benefit of its operations and aims


Directors of research services at Finnish universities are in charge of Finn-ARMA activities. Preparatory and executive responsibility of Finn-ARMA activities lies within the Finn-ARMA Working Group. Finn-ARMA Working Group is elected for a term of three academic years and it has six members representing the member organizations. In addition, Finn-ARMA has thematic subgroups.


Working Group activities are based on an annual action plan. Directors of research services meet regularly in August, February and May.


Member organizations

Our membership comprises of the staff of Finnish universities’ research services. Member organizations are


  • Aalto University
  • Hanken School of Economics
  • Lappeenranta University of Technology
  • Tampere University of Technology
  • University of Eastern Finland
  • University of Helsinki
  • University of Jyväskylä
  • University of Lapland
  • University of Oulu
  • University of Tampere
  • University of the Arts Helsinki
  • University of Turku
  • University of Vaasa
  • Åbo Akademi University


Contact information

Members of the Working Group 2017-2018:


Jaana Backman, University of Eastern Finland, tel. +358 50 5554446,


  • Chair of Working Group
  • Responsilibity: External relations, international cooperation


Soile Haverinen, University of Turku,  +358 405569395,


  • Vice Chair of Working Group
  • Responsibility: External relations, national cooperation


Anna-Maria Nordman, Åbo Akademi,  +358 63247104,


  • Responsibility: Training


Elina Humala, University of Jyväskylä,  +358 408054715,


  • Responsibility: Training



  • Responsibility: Finn-ARMA sub group coordination


Tanja Grönlund, Lappeenranta University of Technology, tel. +358 400 838859,


  • Responsibility: Communication